AI Course Check

Microsoft AI courses and AI certifications (2026)

Microsoft's entry-level AI certification is now AI-901, which replaced AI-900 when it retired on 30 June 2026. Start with Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00), Microsoft's free course for the exam.

Courses listed
11 courses
Free
8 free
Certificate or exam
9 with a certificate, 1 vendor exam

Microsoft Learn's AI courses are free and cover Copilot for everyday work, building agents and Azure AI. Microsoft's certification exams are paid; the fundamentals exam is now AI-901, which replaced AI-900.

All Microsoft courses we list

Every Microsoft course we list: beginner before advanced, then lowest cost.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelForHoursCertificate
Agent in a Day - Online workshopMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionalsNot statedFree badge
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionals, EveryoneNot statedFree badge
Draft, Analyze, and Present with Microsoft Copilot (MS-4018)Microsoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionals, EveryoneNot statedFree badge
Empower your workforce with Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionals, Managers and leadersNot statedFree badge
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)Microsoft on Microsoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginnerDevelopers and engineers, Students and career changers9.5No certificate
Transform Your Everyday Business Processes with Agents (MS-4019)MicrosoftOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionals, EveryoneNot statedFree badge
Work smarter with AIMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerBusiness professionals, EveryoneUnder 1Free badge
Work smarter with Copilot prompts for finance professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerFinance and accounting, Business professionalsNot statedFree badge
Microsoft 365 with Generative AI Professional CertificateMicrosoft on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFree to learnSome parts paidBeginnerBusiness professionals88Professional certificate
Generative AI for Marketers SpecializationMicrosoft on CourseraOnline, self-pacedPaid. Price not shown by providerBeginnerMarketers, Small business owners49Professional certificate
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer AssociateMicrosoftOnline or in personPaid. Price not shown by providerIntermediateDevelopers and engineersNot statedExam certification

Which Microsoft course should I start with?

Business users should start with Work smarter with AI. If you want a certification, take the free Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00) before booking exam AI-901.

Which Microsoft AI courses are free?

Most Microsoft courses we list are free or free to learn: the 9 below. "Free to learn" means the course is free but the certificate or full access costs extra.

More free options from every provider: free AI courses.

AI-900 has been retired: what replaced it?

Microsoft retired exam AI-900 (Azure AI Fundamentals) on 30 June 2026. It has been replaced by exam AI-901, which keeps the Azure AI Fundamentals name. To prepare, take Microsoft's free course Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00). Microsoft's exam pages we checked did not show the AI-901 price for the UK, so we don't list one.

Certificates and exams

Exam fees as shown by the provider, in the provider's currency.
CourseCostCertificateLevel
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer AssociateMicrosoftPaid. Price not shown by providerExam certificationIntermediate

Other Microsoft Copilot courses and training

Compare all Microsoft Copilot training, including licence notes and UK options.

Questions people ask

Are Microsoft AI courses free?

Most are. Agent in a Day - Online workshop and Build foundational generative AI skills are free or free to learn, as are 7 others; the rest are paid.

How much do Microsoft exams cost?

Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate: Paid. Price not shown by provider. Fees are shown as Microsoft shows them and never converted.

Other providers

Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, Amazon Web Services, or all providers. For certifications across providers, see our AI certifications guide.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.