AI Course Check

Microsoft · on Coursera

Microsoft 365 with Generative AI Professional Certificate

Microsoft 365 with Generative AI Professional Certificate is a free-to-learn beginner course from Microsoft, online. Some parts are paid.

It takes about 88 hours and ends with a professional certificate.

Good to know
  • Needs a paid tool licence or subscription to take part. See the prerequisites.
  • Duration estimated from the provider's schedule.

Before you sign up

For office workers who want a long, structured Copilot programme with a Microsoft-branded certificate for their CV. It covers every main Microsoft 365 app in depth. The caveats: about 88 hours is a lot for end-user skills, you need Copilot enabled on your account, and the Coursera price isn't shown. For the same material free and self-paced, start with Draft, Analyze, and Present with Microsoft Copilot (MS-4018) on Microsoft Learn.

What you'll learn

Four-course Microsoft professional certificate on Coursera for using Copilot across Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams: productivity, AI-driven data insights, collaboration and AI-powered workflows. About 88 hours in total, aimed at beginners with basic Microsoft 365 skills.

More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.

See also: Microsoft Copilot training.

Who it's for

Business professionals.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Basic proficiency in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams. Access to Microsoft 365 with Copilot enabled is necessary.

Is Microsoft 365 with Generative AI Professional Certificate free?

Free to learn. Some parts paid. Price not rendered.

Certificate: professional certificate. Microsoft professional certificate via Coursera.

Taking this course from the UK

Microsoft is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 12 Oct 2026.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on generative AI: An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

Free to learn. Some parts paid.

How long does this course take?

About 88 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: professional certificate. The provider calls it "Microsoft professional certificate via Coursera".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: Basic proficiency in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams. Access to Microsoft 365 with Copilot enabled is necessary.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Are Microsoft AI courses free?

Most are. Agent in a Day - Online workshop and Build foundational generative AI skills are free or free to learn, as are 7 others; the rest are paid.

How much do Microsoft exams cost?

Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate: Paid. Price not shown by provider. Fees are shown as Microsoft shows them and never converted.

Alternatives

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3Certificate not stated
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
ChatGPT Foundations for TeachersOpenAI on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner5No certificate
Claude 101Anthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.