AI Course Check

University of Edinburgh

Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff

Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff is a paid course from University of Edinburgh, online. It costs £150. It takes about 5 hours.

University of Edinburgh doesn't say whether there is a certificate. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits administrators, student support, HR, finance and library staff in universities and colleges who want practical generative AI habits for routine work. What stands out is the sector-specific case studies. The main caveat is the £150 fee for about five hours, when free general courses cover similar prompting skills. A free alternative is Work smarter with AI from Microsoft Learn.

What you'll learn

Self-paced online course from the University of Edinburgh's Bayes Centre for professional services staff in universities and colleges. About five hours of material covers brainstorming and drafting with generative AI, Excel formulas, tone and inclusive language, prompt writing and pitfalls such as hallucinations and bias, using University of Edinburgh case studies.

More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Teachers and educators, Business professionals, Public sector.

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

How much does Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff cost?

£150. £150.00; 20% introductory discount if booked before the end of October 2026.

Certificate: certificate not stated.

Taking this course from the UK

University of Edinburgh is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on generative AI: An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber), Prompt engineering in AI tools (Wise Owl).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

£150.

How long does this course take?

About 5 hours, self-paced.

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Are The University of Edinburgh AI courses free?

Some are. Responsible AI Innovation for SMEs is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3Certificate not stated
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
ChatGPT Foundations for TeachersOpenAI on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner5No certificate
Claude 101Anthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate

Free alternative: AI Agents Course from Hugging Face Learn, free certificate.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.