AI Course Check

OpenAI ยท on Coursera

ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers

ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers is a free beginner course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 5 hours and has no certificate.

Before you sign up

A sensible first step for primary and secondary teachers who want to use ChatGPT for lesson planning and classroom work. It is free, self-paced and takes about 5 hours across seven modules, ending in a recap assessment. The caveat: the Coursera page says no certificate is awarded, and everything is built around one vendor's tool. For a Gemini-based alternative with a certificate, try Generative AI for Educators with Gemini from Google.

What you'll learn

OpenAI's introductory course for primary and secondary teachers covering how ChatGPT works, prompting, classroom use cases such as lesson planning, and responsible use. Seven modules ending in a recap assessment.

More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Teachers and educators.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers free?

Free. Free enrollment on Coursera.

Certificate: no certificate.

Taking this course from the UK

OpenAI is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 12 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education), AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.

Questions people ask

How much does ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers cost?

It's free.

How long does ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers take?

About 5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers?

No, the provider does not offer one.

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers start?

Start any time.

Are OpenAI AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI Foundations and ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers.

Alternatives

  • Safe and effective use of AI in education

    Chartered College of Teaching

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Next intake not announced

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 11 Oct 2026
  • Google AI Educator series

    Google for Education

    Delivery
    Online
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 12 Oct 2026

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3Certificate not stated
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
Claude 101Anthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Draft, Analyze, and Present with Microsoft Copilot (MS-4018)Microsoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.