Using AI in education settings: support materials
Department for Education
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner (our rating)
- For
- Teachers and educators, Managers and leaders
- Duration
- Not stated
- Certificate
- No
Start any time
Chartered College of Teaching
Safe and effective use of AI in education is a free course from Chartered College of Teaching, online. It ends with a free CPD certificate. Next intake not announced.
Chartered College of Teaching doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits teachers, leaders and support staff in schools and colleges who have worked through the DfE AI support materials and want evidence of what they learned. What stands out is the free certification and five credits towards Chartered Status for successful eligible candidates. The main caveat is that this is an assessment, not training: the learning sits in the DfE modules, and the page does not say who counts as eligible. A free alternative is the Google AI Educator series.
A free certified multiple-choice assessment from the Chartered College of Teaching, based on the Department for Education's AI support materials. It covers understanding AI in education, interacting with generative AI, safe use and use cases. Successful eligible candidates receive five credits towards Chartered Status. Non-members can take it with a free guest account.
More courses on generative AI and on responsible AI and ethics.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
Not stated by provider.
Free. Free; non-members need a free guest account.
Certificate: free CPD certificate. Certified assessment (Chartered College certification); five credits towards Chartered Status for successful eligible candidates.
Chartered College of Teaching is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 11 Oct 2026.
It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation), Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computing (National Centre for Computing Education).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.
Next intake not announced.
It's free.
Yes: free CPD certificate. The provider calls it "Certified assessment (Chartered College certification); five credits towards Chartered Status for successful eligible candidates".
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.
Next intake not announced.
Yes. Safe and effective use of AI in education is free.
Department for Education
Start any time
Google for Education
Start any time
National Centre for Computing Education
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Free badge |
| AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing Education | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Certificate not stated |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.