AI Course Check

Anthropic Academy

AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations

AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations is a free beginner course from Anthropic Academy, online. It ends with a free certificate. Anthropic Academy doesn't say how long it takes.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.

Before you sign up

Suits anyone new to working with AI as a first course. Built with academic partners, it focuses on using AI effectively, efficiently, ethically and safely, and the final assessment earns a free certificate. Anthropic doesn't state the duration. If you want a short course on what today's models can and can't do before you start, try AI Capabilities and Limitations, also free from Anthropic.

What you'll learn

Anthropic's core AI literacy course, built with academic partners, on working with AI effectively, efficiently, ethically and safely. Ends with a final assessment for a certificate.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics and on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed).

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations free?

Free.

Certificate: free certificate. Certificate of completion after final assessment.

Taking this course from the UK

Anthropic is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 3 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations cost?

It's free.

Is there a certificate for AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations?

Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "certificate of completion after final assessment".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations start?

Start any time.

Are Anthropic AI courses free?

Most are. Building with the Claude API and AI Capabilities and Limitations are free or free to learn, as are 6 others; the rest are paid.

Can I take a Claude certification exam?

Only through a member firm. Claude says: "Exams are available to members of the Claude Partner Network." See our Claude certifications guide.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
AI literacy for teachers and school leadersRaspberry Pi FoundationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.