BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA)
BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA) is a free beginner course from Cardiff and Vale College, online or in person. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts.
It ends with an exam certification. Next intake not announced. Cardiff and Vale College doesn't say how long it takes.
Good to know
Duration not stated by provider.
Before you sign up
Suits employed adults living in Wales who want a recognised entry-level AI certificate without paying for it. What stands out is the funding: the Personal Learning Account covers the course and the page says the usual salary cap does not apply. The main caveat is that no dates are published, so learners have to contact the college. Outside the PLA scheme, the BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence exam alone costs £160 + VAT, with training extra.
What you'll learn
Cardiff and Vale College course preparing learners for the BCS Essentials Certificate in AI. Three half-day workshops cover AI history, ethics, UK law, machine learning, data quality and AI at work, then about 23 hours of self-study and a half-day exam preparation workshop lead to a 20-question exam. Free for adults eligible for a Welsh Personal Learning Account.
Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online or in person, Cardiff.
Prerequisites
Not stated by provider.
Is BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA) free?
Free under Personal Learning Accounts.
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (exam).
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts: This FREE course is only available to adults that are eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA). This is a non salary cap PLA course.
Taking this course from the UK
Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (exam)".
Do I need experience first?
It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.
When does it start?
Next intake not announced.
Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).
How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?
BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.