Who can take a Claude certification?
Only people at firms in the Claude Partner Network. Firms join for free at claude.com/partners and register their staff; the table below quotes Claude’s announcement on each point.
So if you work for a consultancy or other firm that is a member, ask it to register you. The announcement doesn’t describe another way to book an exam.
| Who can take the exams | "Exams are available to members of the Claude Partner Network."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
|---|---|
| Cost to join the network | "Membership is free."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
| Exam fee | Not stated in the announcement. |
| Format | "Every exam is proctored, meaning it is taken under supervision, and delivered through Pearson Professional Assessments."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
| Identity check | "test takers must validate their identity before beginning an exam."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
| What you get | "Those who pass the exam receive a digital badge through Credly by Pearson."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
| Preparation | "Certification preparation courses for each credential are available in the Anthropic Partner Academy."Claude, 23 July 2026 |
What are the four Claude certifications?
Claude lists four credentials, each for a role:
- Claude Certified Associate: Foundations “validates practical, everyday use of Claude for anyone working on Claude-related projects”.
- Claude Certified Developer: Foundations “is for engineers building applications with Claude, and includes training on the Claude API, tool use, and agent development”.
- Claude Certified Architect: Foundations “is for solution architects who design and build agent systems with Claude”.
- Claude Certified Architect: Professional “is the advanced credential, covering integration architecture, governance, and evaluation, built for the scale of large enterprises”.
Claude says: “Every path to getting credentialed starts with a foundation-level certification and advances to the professional-level.”
How do I prepare if my employer isn’t a partner?
You can’t sit the exams, but you can learn the same tools. These are the Anthropic courses we list today, open to anyone:
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | For | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Everyone | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency for EducatorsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Intermediate | Teachers and educators | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency for Small BusinessesAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Intermediate | Small business owners, Business professionals | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Everyone | Not stated | Free certificate |
| Building with the Claude APIAnthropic on Coursera | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Developers and engineers | 10 | No certificate |
| Claude 101Anthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Everyone, Business professionals | Not stated | Free certificate |
| Claude Code in ActionAnthropic on Coursera | Online, self-paced | Paid. Price not shown by provider | Beginner | Developers and engineers | 1 | Certificate |
| Introduction to Claude CoworkAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Business professionals, Everyone | Not stated | Certificate not stated |
| Prompt Engineering Interactive TutorialAnthropic on GitHub | Online, self-paced | Free to learnSome parts paid | Beginner | Developers and engineers | Not stated | No certificate |
Why do the exams matter to firms?
Claude ties partner status to certification: “Certified practitioner counts determine a firm’s standing in the Claude Partner Network.” So a member firm has a reason to get its staff certified.