AI Course Check

AI apprenticeship units (2026)

AI apprenticeship units are short, funded units for people already in work in England. Skills England approved 3 AI leadership units at Level 5, each with maximum funding of £750.

AI units
3
Where
England
Cost
An employed role; training is paid by the employer and government (see who pays)

The rules say: "Units are for employed learners aged 19 and over, where their employer has identified that they need to upskill quickly to respond to emerging skills gaps and to support business growth and productivity."

Which AI apprenticeship units are there?

From each unit's Skills England page, checked on the date shown. Status is in plain words; the official wording is on each linked page.
UnitLevelHoursMaximum fundingChecked
AI leadership – AI strategy and opportunityAU0009. Approved for delivery5Not stated£75011 Oct 2026
AI leadership – AI adoption, procurement and governanceAU0010. Approved for delivery5Not stated£75011 Oct 2026
AI leadership – AI delivery and organisational transformationAU0011. Approved for delivery5Not stated£75011 Oct 2026

Questions people ask

Are AI apprenticeship units free?

For employers who don't pay the levy, yes, up to the funding rate. The funding rules say: "For employers who do not pay the levy, the government will fund all of the apprenticeship unit training and assessment costs based on the funding rate (as stated on the apprenticeship unit)."

Which AI apprenticeship units are there?

AI leadership – AI strategy and opportunity (AU0009), AI leadership – AI adoption, procurement and governance (AU0010) and AI leadership – AI delivery and organisational transformation (AU0011).

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.