AI Course Check

Anthropic Academy

AI Capabilities and Limitations

AI Capabilities and Limitations is a free beginner course from Anthropic Academy, online. It ends with a free certificate. Anthropic Academy doesn't say how long it takes.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.

Before you sign up

For anyone who uses AI tools and wants to understand why they sometimes get things confidently wrong. Explaining next-token prediction, memory and steerability in plain terms is more useful day to day than most 'intro to AI' courses. It's free with a certificate. The caveat: the page gives no time estimate, and it's conceptual rather than hands-on. For a longer, broader free grounding, try Elements of AI.

What you'll learn

Free introductory Anthropic Academy course giving a working mental model of how generative AI behaves and why. Covers next-token prediction, knowledge, working memory and steerability, so learners can spot unexpected outputs, judge what a task needs and apply targeted fixes. Certificate on completion.

More courses on generative AI.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed).

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is AI Capabilities and Limitations free?

Free. Free; Skilljar account needed.

Certificate: free certificate. Certificate of completion.

Taking this course from the UK

Anthropic is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 5 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does AI Capabilities and Limitations cost?

It's free.

Is there a certificate for AI Capabilities and Limitations?

Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "Certificate of completion".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does AI Capabilities and Limitations start?

Start any time.

Are Anthropic AI courses free?

Most are. Building with the Claude API and AI Capabilities and Limitations are free or free to learn, as are 6 others; the rest are paid.

Can I take a Claude certification exam?

Only through a member firm. Claude says: "Exams are available to members of the Claude Partner Network." See our Claude certifications guide.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
AI literacy for teachers and school leadersRaspberry Pi FoundationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.