BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA)
This course is a free course from Cardiff and Vale College, online. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts. It ends with an exam certification. Next: 8 Mar 2027.
Cardiff and Vale College doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Good to know
Duration not stated by provider.
Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.
Before you sign up
Suits employed adults in Wales, from service desk staff to chief information officers, who want a formal BCS award on AI ethics rather than a general AI overview. What stands out is the free place under PLA and a fixed evening timetable from March 2027. The main caveat is the narrow scope: it covers ethics and responsibility, not how to use AI tools. A free self-paced alternative on the same theme is Ethics of AI from Elements of AI.
What you'll learn
Evening course on Microsoft Teams leading to a BCS Foundation Award on the ethics of AI. It covers organisational and individual responsibility for AI, wider social and economic effects, potential harms and safeguards, and human oversight. Assessment is a short multiple-choice exam that can be taken remotely.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: live online.
Prerequisites
GCSE English at least a C grade.
Is BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) free?
Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA), funded by the Welsh Government; full fee not shown.
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam).
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts: This course is free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA).
Taking this course from the UK
Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam)".
Do I need experience first?
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: GCSE English at least a C grade.
When does it start?
Next: 8 Mar 2027.
Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).
How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?
BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.