AWS AI courses and the AI Practitioner exam (2026)
AWS Skill Builder's AI courses are free; the AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam is paid and priced in US dollars.
- Courses listed
- 3 courses
- Free
- 2 free
- Certificate or exam
- 1 vendor exam
All Amazon Web Services courses we list
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | For | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Generative AI for ExecutivesAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Managers and leaders, Business professionals | Under 1 | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the PossibleAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Everyone, Business professionals | 1 | Certificate not stated |
| AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnExam USD 100 | Beginner | Developers and engineers, Business professionals | 8 | Paid exam certification |
Which Amazon Web Services course should I start with?
Take the free AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan before you book the AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam.
Which Amazon Web Services AI courses are free?
All 3 Amazon Web Services courses we list are free or free to learn. "Free to learn" means the course is free but the certificate or full access costs extra.
- Generative AI for Executives: Free.
- Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the Possible: Free.
- AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan: Free to learn, paid certificate.
More free options from every provider: free AI courses.
Certificates and exams
| Course | Cost | Certificate | Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Free to learnExam USD 100 | Paid exam certification | Beginner |
Questions people ask
Are Amazon Web Services AI courses free?
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including Generative AI for Executives and Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the Possible.
How much do Amazon Web Services exams cost?
AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan: Free to learn. Exam USD 100. Fees are shown as Amazon Web Services shows them and never converted.
Is the AWS AI Practitioner certification worth it?
The preparation is free and the exam costs USD 100, as AWS shows it. It is worth it if your employer or clients use AWS or ask for the certification. We make no claims about jobs or salaries.
Is the AWS AI Practitioner exam difficult?
AWS lists its learning plan at beginner level, and the exam has 65 questions in 90 minutes. AWS recommends AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials or AWS Technical Essentials first if you are new to IT or AWS.
How long does it take to study for AWS AI Practitioner?
The free AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan takes about 8 hours, self-paced. The exam is separate and paid.
Other providers
Microsoft, Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, or all providers. For certifications across providers, see our AI certifications guide.
New courses by email: launching soon
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.