Building with the Claude API
Anthropic · Coursera
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner
- For
- Developers and engineers
- Duration
- About 10 hours
- Certificate
- No
Start any time
Microsoft · on Microsoft Learn
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00) is a free beginner course from Microsoft Learn, online. It takes about 9.5 hours and has no certificate.
A sensible free start for developers and students heading for the Azure AI Fundamentals exam. Two self-paced learning paths, about 9.5 hours, cover generative AI, agents, NLP, vision and RAG, then building in Microsoft Foundry. Caveats: there's no certificate, the exam is separate and paid, and you'll want some Python and cloud basics. It's also unclear whether the exercises need an Azure subscription. For a free non-Microsoft option, try Introduction to Generative AI from Google.
Microsoft's preparation course for exam AI-901 (Azure AI Fundamentals), which replaced AI-900. Two free self-paced learning paths cover AI concepts, generative AI and agents, NLP, speech, computer vision, information extraction and RAG, then building with Microsoft Foundry. Also offered instructor-led via partners.
More courses on generative AI and on AI agents and agentic AI.
Developers and engineers, Students and career changers.
Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online.
Some Python syntax knowledge; core cloud concepts recommended.
Free.
Certificate: no certificate.
Microsoft is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 12 Oct 2026.
It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for developers and engineers: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (ILX Group), Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction (University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)), Artificial Intelligence Concepts: Practical Applications (University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for developers and engineers.
It's free.
About 9.5 hours, more than one format.
No, the provider does not offer one.
It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: Some Python syntax knowledge; core cloud concepts recommended.
Start any time.
Most are. Agent in a Day - Online workshop and Build foundational generative AI skills are free or free to learn, as are 7 others; the rest are paid.
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate: Paid. Price not shown by provider. Fees are shown as Microsoft shows them and never converted.
Anthropic · Coursera
Start any time
Forth Valley College
Start any time
Anthropic · Coursera
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Free badge |
| AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing Education | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Certificate not stated |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.