AI Course Check

Google · on Coursera

Google AI Essentials

Google AI Essentials is a paid beginner course from Google, online. It costs USD 49/month (price shown in USD). It takes about 8 hours and ends with a professional certificate.

Good to know
  • Price shown in USD, as on the provider's page. We don't convert it.
  • Duration estimated from the provider's schedule.

Before you sign up

Suits beginners who want a widely shared certificate and hands-on practice with Gemini. Five courses cover AI basics, productivity, prompting, responsible use and keeping up with AI. Coursera's module times add up to 8 hours, though Google's own page says under 5. The main caveat is cost: USD 49 a month after a 7-day free trial (US/Canada pricing, varies by country), with financial aid available. For a free start, try AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101 from Google.

What you'll learn

Google's five-course beginner programme on Coursera covering AI basics, productivity with AI tools, prompting, responsible use and keeping up with AI, with hands-on Gemini activities.

More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed), Business professionals.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

None

How much does Google AI Essentials cost?

USD 49/month (price shown in USD). USD 49/month after 7-day free trial (US/Canada pricing; varies by country); financial aid available.

Certificate: professional certificate. Google AI Essentials certificate.

Taking this course from the UK

We checked this course on the provider's own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The provider shows prices in US dollars (USD). We show them as shown and never convert them to pounds.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on generative AI: An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does Google AI Essentials cost?

USD 49/month (price shown in USD).

How long does Google AI Essentials take?

About 8 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Google AI Essentials?

Yes: professional certificate. The provider calls it "Google AI Essentials certificate".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: None.

When does Google AI Essentials start?

Start any time.

Are Google AI courses free?

Most are. AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101 and Enterprise Agents and Use Cases are free or free to learn, as are 5 others; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3Certificate not stated
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
ChatGPT Foundations for TeachersOpenAI on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner5No certificate
Claude 101Anthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate

Free alternative: AI Agents Course from Hugging Face Learn, free certificate.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.