BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA)
BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA) is a free course from Cardiff and Vale College, online or in person. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts.
It ends with an exam certification. Next intake not announced. Cardiff and Vale College doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.
Good to know
Duration not stated by provider.
Before you sign up
Suits people in Wales who already hold the BCS Essentials Certificate in AI and want the next BCS level for free. What stands out is the short format: two half-day workshops plus about 11 hours of self-study. The main caveat is the entry requirement, the Essentials certificate, and no dates are published. Learners without it can start with BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA) from the same college, also free under PLA.
What you'll learn
Follow-on course from the BCS Essentials Certificate in AI that prepares learners for the BCS Foundation Certificate exam. A tutor-led workshop covers AI and society, sustainability, legal and ethical AI, how generative AI is trained and planning an AI project, then exam preparation and a 40-question exam.
Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online or in person, Cardiff.
Prerequisites
BCS Essentials Certificate in AI
Is BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA) free?
Free under Personal Learning Accounts.
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (exam).
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts: This FREE course is only available to adults that are eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA). This is a non salary cap PLA course.
Taking this course from the UK
Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (exam)".
Do I need experience first?
It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: BCS Essentials Certificate in AI.
When does it start?
Next intake not announced.
Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).
How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?
BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.