BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA)
BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA) is a free course from Cardiff and Vale College, online. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts. It ends with an exam certification.
Next: 9 Nov 2026. Cardiff and Vale College doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.
Good to know
Duration not stated by provider.
Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.
Before you sign up
Suits employed adults in Wales who want a more technical grounding in machine learning with a BCS award at the end. What stands out is the free place under PLA and a short run from 9 November to 7 December 2026. The main caveat is that the page does not say how much coding is involved or what software is used. A free self-paced option with some Python is Elements of AI: Building AI, though its certificate costs EUR 50.
What you'll learn
Evening course on Microsoft Teams leading to a BCS Foundation Award in Machine Learning. Topics include what machine learning is, coding concepts and techniques, common algorithms, real-world uses and practical points for implementation. Certification needs a short multiple-choice exam that can be taken remotely.
Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: live online.
Prerequisites
GCSE English at least a C grade.
Is BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA) free?
Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA), funded by the Welsh Government; full fee not shown.
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam).
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts: This course is free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA).
Taking this course from the UK
Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam)".
Do I need experience first?
It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: GCSE English at least a C grade.
When does it start?
Next: 9 Nov 2026.
Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).
How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?
BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.