AI Course Check

City Lit

Introduction to artificial intelligence

Introduction to artificial intelligence is a paid beginner course from City Lit, online or in person. It costs £149. It ends with a certificate, included in the fee. Starts in 9 days (22 Oct 2026).

City Lit doesn't say how long it takes.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Before you sign up

Suits complete beginners in London who want a broad grounding in how AI works, its history and its ethical issues, with no prior skills needed. What stands out is the low fee, with senior and concession rates, and a choice of one-day or two-session runs. The main caveat is that it does not teach hands-on use of generative AI tools such as ChatGPT. City Lit's own Generative AI: A Short Introduction is the practical, tool-based alternative it points to.

What you'll learn

An introductory class on what artificial intelligence is and how it works, covering key terms, the history of AI, how state-of-the-art algorithms work, demos and exercises, and ethical concerns. Taught through interactive lectures, demonstrations and discussion at City Lit's Keeley Street centre in London. It does not include hands-on training with generative AI tools such as ChatGPT.

More courses on machine learning and on responsible AI and ethics.

See also: AI courses in London.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed).

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online or in person, London.

Prerequisites

The course is introductory, so no skills needed. All levels welcome.

How much does Introduction to artificial intelligence cost?

£149. £149 full fee; senior fee £119; concession £97.

Certificate: certificate included in fee. City Lit certificate of attendance.

Taking this course from the UK

City Lit is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 11 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Dates

Starts in 9 days (22 Oct 2026).

Start dates listed by the provider: 22 Oct 2026, 29 Nov 2026, 14 Jan 2027, 23 Feb 2027, 27 Apr 2027, 9 Jun 2027, 24 Jul 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does Introduction to artificial intelligence cost?

£149.

Is there a certificate for Introduction to artificial intelligence?

Yes: certificate included in fee. The provider calls it "City Lit certificate of attendance".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: The course is introductory, so no skills needed. All levels welcome.

When does Introduction to artificial intelligence start?

Starts in 9 days (22 Oct 2026).

Are City Lit AI courses free?

No. Introduction to artificial intelligence costs £149.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated

Free alternative: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science from National Centre for Computing Education, certificate not stated.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.