AI Course Check

University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)

Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence in Python

Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence in Python is a paid course from University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education, online. It costs £430.

It takes about 100 hours and leads to an academic award. Next: 12 Jan 2027. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Good to know
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Before you sign up

Suits people who already code in Python and want guided, hands-on practice building and evaluating machine learning models with a tutor. What stands out is the live weekly webinar format with a University of Oxford certificate on passing. The main caveat is the entry bar: programming experience and the content of the provider's Python introduction course are expected, plus about 100 study hours, at £430. A free, self-paced alternative is fast.ai's Practical Deep Learning for Coders.

What you'll learn

A ten-week live online course from Oxford Lifelong Learning on machine learning, deep learning and natural language processing in Python. Weekly evening webinars use Jupyter Notebooks and libraries such as scikit-learn, TensorFlow and PyTorch, focusing on tools and methods over theory. Prior programming experience is required.

More courses on machine learning.

Who it's for

Developers and engineers, Data scientists and analysts.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

Experience in using a programming or scripting language is a must. The student should master all the concepts explored in the course Python Programming for Data Science: Introduction

How much does Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence in Python cost?

£430. Course fee £430.

Certificate: academic award. University of Oxford digital Certificate of Completion (on passing the final assignment); CATS points.

Taking this course from the UK

University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning) is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for developers and engineers: Building with the Claude API (Anthropic), Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (ILX Group), BCS Foundation in Artificial Intelligence (QA).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for developers and engineers.

Dates

Next: 12 Jan 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

£430.

How long does this course take?

About 100 hours, live sessions.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: academic award. The provider calls it "University of Oxford digital Certificate of Completion (on passing the final assignment); CATS points".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Experience in using a programming or scripting language is a must. The student should master all the concepts explored in the course Python Programming for Data Science: Introduction.

When does it start?

Next: 12 Jan 2027.

Are University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education AI courses free?

No, they are all paid. The lowest-priced one we list is Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction: £430.

Alternatives

Similar courses on machine learning

Other machine learning courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with PythonHarvard University on edXOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateNot statedFree certificate
Introduction to Machine Learning and AINational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediate8Certificate not stated
Elements of AI: Building AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate EUR 50Intermediate50Paid professional certificate
AI Applications in People ManagementThe Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate paidBeginner10Paid certificate

Free alternative: LLM Course from Hugging Face Learn, no certificate.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.