Introduction to Machine Learning and AI
National Centre for Computing Education
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Intermediate (our rating)
- For
- Teachers and educators
- Duration
- About 8 hours
- Certificate
- Not stated
Start any time
Raspberry Pi Foundation
Teaching about AI is a free course from Raspberry Pi Foundation, online. It ends with a free certificate. Raspberry Pi Foundation doesn't say how long it takes.
We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits teachers who already know the basics of AI and want to plan lessons and project work around it. What stands out is the use of the AI project lifecycle to structure learner projects, plus unplugged activities. The main caveat is that it assumes basic knowledge of data-driven AI and machine learning terms. The Raspberry Pi Foundation recommends its free Introducing AI course first for anyone new to these ideas.
A free two-module online course from the Raspberry Pi Foundation for educators. Module one covers planning balanced lessons about AI, explaining concepts accurately and unplugged activities. Module two uses the AI project lifecycle to guide learners from defining problems to evaluating solutions, and looks at how developers collect data and train, test and evaluate models. Takes 2 to 4 hours.
More courses on machine learning.
Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
You will need a basic understanding of what data-driven AI systems are and how they work, machine learning, and common AI-related terms, like 'AI model' and 'training'.
Free.
Certificate: free certificate. Certificate available on completion.
Raspberry Pi Foundation is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education), AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.
It's free.
Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "Certificate available on completion".
It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: You will need a basic understanding of what data-driven AI systems are and how they work, machine learning, and common AI-related terms, like 'AI model' and 'training'.
Start any time.
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI literacy for teachers and school leaders and Introducing AI.
National Centre for Computing Education
Start any time
Anthropic Academy
Start any time
Chartered College of Teaching
Next intake not announced
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA)Cardiff and Vale College | Online or in person, Cardiff | FundedFree under Personal Learning Accounts | Intermediate | Not stated | Exam certification |
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Free badge |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.