AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

AI Leadership

AI Leadership is a free course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 3 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

For managers who have been asked to lead AI adoption and need a strategy draft rather than inspiration. What stands out is working through your own initiative and leaving with a roadmap draft, and it's free. The caveats: it comes from a vendor, so expect a ChatGPT lens, and three hours alone is no substitute for peer discussion. For a free view from another vendor, try Gen AI Agents: Transform Your Organization from Google.

What you'll learn

Free three-hour OpenAI Academy course for leaders responsible for AI strategy, adoption and change. Learners work through a real AI initiative, connect it to business priorities and draft an initial AI strategy and roadmap. Course badge for 80% or more on the assessment.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Managers and leaders.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is AI Leadership free?

Free. Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Taking this course from the UK

OpenAI is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 5 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for managers and leaders: Using AI in education settings: support materials (Department for Education), BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College), BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.

Questions people ask

How much does AI Leadership cost?

It's free.

How long does AI Leadership take?

About 3 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Leadership?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does AI Leadership start?

Start any time.

Are OpenAI AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI Foundations and ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI for business and productivity

Other AI for business and productivity courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Fluency for Small BusinessesAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateNot statedFree certificate
AI Marketing Strategy and ToolsThe Chartered Institute of MarketingOnline or in person, London£525IntermediateNot statedCertificate not stated
The CIM AI in Marketing ProgrammeThe Chartered Institute of MarketingLive online£999IntermediateNot statedCertificate not stated
AI in Business: Strategies and ImplementationLSI (London School of Innovation)Online, self-paced£1,495Intermediate36Certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.