AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

Applied AI Foundations

Applied AI Foundations is a free course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 1.5 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

For people who use ChatGPT regularly and want to stop re-typing prompts and build repeatable workflows with review points. The focus on quality, speed and cost trade-offs is practical for team use. The caveats: it's ChatGPT-specific and assumes the basics, so it's not a first course. It's free and about 90 minutes. If you're new to AI at work, start with AI Foundations from OpenAI Academy.

What you'll learn

Free OpenAI Academy course on turning good prompts into structured, repeatable workflows for recurring work: planning steps, inputs, models and tools, adding checkpoints and human review, and balancing quality, speed and cost. Course badge for 80% or more on the assessment.

More courses on prompt engineering and on generative AI.

Who it's for

Business professionals.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is Applied AI Foundations free?

Free. Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Taking this course from the UK

OpenAI is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 5 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on prompt engineering: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does Applied AI Foundations cost?

It's free.

How long does Applied AI Foundations take?

About 1.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Applied AI Foundations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does Applied AI Foundations start?

Start any time.

Are OpenAI AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI Foundations and ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers.

Alternatives

  • Certificate of AI Readiness (CAIR)

    Swansea University

    Delivery
    Live online
    Cost
    £10,000
    Level
    Intermediate (our rating)
    For
    Managers and leaders, Public sector
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Not stated

    Next: 18 Jan 2027

    UK
    Verified 12 Oct 2026
  • AI Fluency for Small Businesses

    Anthropic Academy

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Intermediate
    For
    Small business owners, Business professionals
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Free certificate
    Verified 3 Oct 2026

Similar courses on prompt engineering

Other prompt engineering courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Prompting for Software EngineersLSI (London School of Innovation)Online, self-paced£499Intermediate20Certificate
AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101GoogleOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Badge
ChatGPT Prompt Engineering for DevelopersDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner1.5Paid certificate
Talking to AI: Prompt Engineering for Project ManagersProject Management Institute (PMI)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free CPD certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.