AI Course Check

DataCamp

Understanding Artificial Intelligence

Understanding Artificial Intelligence is a free-to-learn beginner course from DataCamp, online. Some parts are paid. It takes about 2 hours and ends with a certificate.

Before you sign up

A short, no-code primer for anyone who needs the basics before a work conversation about AI. In about 2 hours you get 16 videos and 49 exercises, including how to build AI-driven organisations, and 2.8 CPE credits are available via a qualified assessment. It's free to start, but full access needs a DataCamp subscription and no price is shown. For a fully free alternative, try AI Foundations from OpenAI Academy.

What you'll learn

No-code DataCamp course with 16 videos and 49 exercises on AI subfields, capabilities and limits, how systems learn from data, building AI-driven organisations, and ethics and safety.

More courses on machine learning and on generative AI.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed), Business professionals.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

None

Is Understanding Artificial Intelligence free?

Free to learn. Some parts paid. Free to start; full access needs DataCamp subscription.

Certificate: certificate. Statement of accomplishment; 2.8 CPE credits via qualified assessment.

Taking this course from the UK

DataCamp is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 3 Oct 2026.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does Understanding Artificial Intelligence cost?

Free to learn. Some parts paid.

How long does Understanding Artificial Intelligence take?

About 2 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Understanding Artificial Intelligence?

Yes: certificate. The provider calls it "Statement of accomplishment; 2.8 CPE credits via qualified assessment".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: None.

When does Understanding Artificial Intelligence start?

Start any time.

Are DataCamp AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI Fundamentals (skill track) and Understanding Artificial Intelligence.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.