AI Course Check

DataCamp

AI Fundamentals (skill track)

AI Fundamentals (skill track) is a free-to-learn beginner course from DataCamp, online. Some parts are paid. It takes about 9 hours and ends with a professional certificate.

Before you sign up

Suits professionals and managers who want a broad, theory-first grounding: machine learning, deep learning, NLP, LLMs, prompting, ethics and business uses across six courses in about 9 hours. The optional certification gives it more weight than a completion statement. Caveats: full access needs a DataCamp subscription with no price shown on the page, and the certification cost isn't stated. For a free, practical start, try Work smarter with AI from Microsoft Learn.

What you'll learn

Six-course, theory-first DataCamp track covering machine learning, deep learning, NLP, generative AI and LLMs, prompting, AI ethics and business uses, with an optional certification.

More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Everyone (no background needed), Business professionals, Managers and leaders.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

None

Is AI Fundamentals (skill track) free?

Free to learn. Some parts paid. Free to start; full access needs DataCamp subscription.

Certificate: professional certificate. DataCamp AI Fundamentals Certification.

Taking this course from the UK

DataCamp is based in the US. We checked this course on the provider's own page on 3 Oct 2026.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.

Questions people ask

How much does AI Fundamentals (skill track) cost?

Free to learn. Some parts paid.

How long does AI Fundamentals (skill track) take?

About 9 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Fundamentals (skill track)?

Yes: professional certificate. The provider calls it "DataCamp AI Fundamentals Certification".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: None.

When does AI Fundamentals (skill track) start?

Start any time.

Are DataCamp AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI Fundamentals (skill track) and Understanding Artificial Intelligence.

Alternatives

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.