BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence
BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence is a paid course from BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, online. It costs £160. It ends with an exam certification.
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Good to know
Duration not stated by provider.
Before you sign up
Suits people who want a recognised entry-level AI credential and are happy to prepare on their own. The exam is short, 30 minutes and 20 questions, but BCS says preparation usually takes at least 40 hours, and the £160 fee before VAT covers the exam only. The main caveat is that study materials or a taught course cost extra. A taught option is a one-day course with a BCS accredited training provider, at extra cost.
What you'll learn
Entry-level BCS exam covering AI terminology, types and benefits of AI, the basic machine learning process, project risks and the future of AI at work. Self-study candidates can book the 30-minute, 20-question multiple-choice exam directly with BCS, or train with an accredited provider. No entry requirements.
There are no entry requirements for this certification. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is highly recommended.
How much does BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence cost?
£160. £160 ex VAT, exam only, includes £35 remote proctoring fee; training with a provider costs extra. VAT: excluding (as stated).
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence.
Taking this course from the UK
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, excluding VAT, as the provider states it.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence".
Do I need experience first?
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: There are no entry requirements for this certification. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is highly recommended.
When does it start?
Start any time.
Are BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT AI courses free?
No. BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence costs £160.
How much do BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT exams cost?
BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence: £160. Fees are shown as BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT shows them and never converted.