AI Course Check

King's College London

Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy

Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy is a paid course from King's College London, online. It costs £1,350. It leads to an academic award. Next: 9 Mar 2027.

King's College London doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Before you sign up

Suits mid-career policy and public sector professionals who want a grounding in how AI is used and regulated in government, with case studies of failures. What stands out is the academic credit: five Master's level credits from a four-week online module. The main caveat is entry: a 2:1 degree plus three years' relevant experience, or five years without one, and a £1,350 fee. A free alternative is Elements of AI's Ethics of AI.

What you'll learn

A four-week online module from King's College London's School for Government on how AI is used, governed and misused in public policy. It covers AI in the policy cycle, regulatory frameworks and responsible AI, and sector risks, through self-directed study, three one-hour live webinars and one written assignment. No coding required.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Public sector.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

Standard entry requirements are a 2:1 degree plus 3 years of relevant work experience. Applicants without a 2:1 or higher degree are welcome to apply and typically require 5+ years of relevant work experience.

How much does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy cost?

£1,350. Full price £1,350.

Certificate: academic award.

Taking this course from the UK

King's College London is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for public sector: Artificial Intelligence in National Security (King's College London), Artificial Intelligence Concepts: Practical Applications (University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)), Ethics of AI (London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Dates

Next: 9 Mar 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy cost?

£1,350.

Is there a certificate for Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy?

Yes: academic award.

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Standard entry requirements are a 2:1 degree plus 3 years of relevant work experience. Applicants without a 2:1 or higher degree are welcome to apply and typically require 5+ years of relevant work experience.

When does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy start?

Next: 9 Mar 2027.

Are King's College London AI courses free?

Some are. Artificial Intelligence in National Security is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

Similar courses on responsible AI and ethics

Other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Secure AI Adoption for SMEs: Cybersecurity and the EU AI ActCyberSuite AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediate15Free certificate
Evaluation and Governance of AI in HealthcareUniversity of BirminghamIn person£1,875IntermediateNot statedAcademic award
AI and Ethics in GCSE computer scienceNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
Ethics of AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate

Free alternative: AI Fluency for Educators from Anthropic Academy, free certificate.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.