AI Course Check

London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Ethics of AI

Ethics of AI is a paid course from LSE, online. It costs £650. It ends with a certificate. Next: 16 Nov 2026. LSE doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Before you sign up

Suits professionals who use, manage or advise on AI and want a philosophy-led way to reason about its ethics rather than a compliance checklist. What stands out is the weekly live sessions with tutors and a capstone, all within three weeks. The main caveat is the time: 6 to 8 hours a week, and £650 for a short course. A free alternative is Elements of AI's Ethics of AI, a self-paced online course.

What you'll learn

A three-week online masterclass from LSE's Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method on the ethics of AI. It covers ethical concepts and methods, a sociotechnical view of AI systems and cases such as AI-assisted decisions and companion chatbots, with weekly live sessions and a capstone project. No technical model-building.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Managers and leaders, Business professionals, Public sector.

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

There are no prerequisites for this course.

How much does Ethics of AI cost?

£650. Tuition fees: £650.

Certificate: certificate. Official digital badge and certificate of completion from LSE.

Taking this course from the UK

London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on responsible AI and ethics: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), Responsible AI Innovation for SMEs (University of Edinburgh).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.

Dates

Next: 16 Nov 2026.

Questions people ask

How much does Ethics of AI cost?

£650.

Is there a certificate for Ethics of AI?

Yes: certificate. The provider calls it "Official digital badge and certificate of completion from LSE".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: There are no prerequisites for this course.

When does Ethics of AI start?

Next: 16 Nov 2026.

Are The London School of Economics and Political Science AI courses free?

No, they are all paid. The lowest-priced one we list is Ethics of AI: £650.

Alternatives

Similar courses on responsible AI and ethics

Other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI and Ethics in GCSE computer scienceNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
Ethics of AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Responsible use of ChatGPT at workOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate
Artificial Intelligence in National SecurityKing's College LondonOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner5Paid certificate

Free alternative: AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations from Anthropic Academy, free certificate.

Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.