AI Course Check

fast.ai

Practical Deep Learning for Coders

Practical Deep Learning for Coders is a free course from fast.ai, online. It takes about 14 hours. fast.ai doesn't say whether there is a certificate.

We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Good to know
  • Duration estimated from the provider's schedule.

Before you sign up

Made for coders with about a year of experience, ideally in Python, who learn best by building first. Part 1 alone is 9 lessons of about 90 minutes across vision, NLP, tabular data and deployment, and it's free. No certificate is mentioned, so don't expect a credential. The coding prerequisite makes it intermediate. Once you're through, the LLM Course from Hugging Face is a free next step.

What you'll learn

Free, example-first deep learning course using PyTorch, fastai and Hugging Face, covering vision, NLP, tabular data, collaborative filtering, random forests and deployment. Part 1 has 9 lessons of about 90 minutes.

More courses on machine learning.

Who it's for

Developers and engineers, Data scientists and analysts.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

About a year of coding experience, preferably Python; high-school maths

Is Practical Deep Learning for Coders free?

Free.

Certificate: certificate not stated.

Taking this course from the UK

We checked this course on the provider's own page on 10 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for developers and engineers: Building with the Claude API (Anthropic), Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (ILX Group), BCS Foundation in Artificial Intelligence (QA).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for developers and engineers.

Questions people ask

How much does Practical Deep Learning for Coders cost?

It's free.

How long does Practical Deep Learning for Coders take?

About 14 hours, self-paced.

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: About a year of coding experience, preferably Python; high-school maths.

When does Practical Deep Learning for Coders start?

Start any time.

Are fast.ai AI courses free?

Yes. Practical Deep Learning for Coders is free.

Alternatives

Similar courses on deep learning

Other deep learning courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Getting Started With Deep LearningNVIDIA Deep Learning InstituteOnline, self-pacedUSD 90 (price shown in USD)Intermediate8Certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.