Safe and effective use of AI in education
Chartered College of Teaching
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner (our rating)
- For
- Teachers and educators
- Duration
- Not stated
- Certificate
- Yes
Next intake not announced
Raspberry Pi Foundation
Teach teens computing: Understanding AI for educators is a free course from Raspberry Pi Foundation, online. It ends with a free certificate. Raspberry Pi Foundation doesn't say how long it takes.
We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits teachers and volunteers who want to talk to teenagers about AI with some hands-on use of the tools. What stands out is that learners try Gemini, ChatGPT and Ideogram in some activities, with a certificate on completion. The main caveat is that those activities need sign-ups to third-party AI tools with an email address, and the length is given only as a range of 3 to 6 hours. A free alternative from Google is the Google AI Educator series.
A free three-module online course from the Raspberry Pi Foundation for teachers, parents and club volunteers who educate young people. It covers types of AI tools, how they may affect work and learning, large language models and generative AI, and discussing the risks and ethics of AI with young learners. Takes 3 to 6 hours.
More courses on generative AI and on responsible AI and ethics.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
Not stated by provider.
Free.
Certificate: free certificate. Certificate available on completion.
Raspberry Pi Foundation is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.
It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education), AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.
It's free.
Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "Certificate available on completion".
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.
Start any time.
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI literacy for teachers and school leaders and Introducing AI.
Chartered College of Teaching
Next intake not announced
Department for Education
Start any time
Google for Education
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | Free certificate |
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Free badge |
| AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing Education | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1.5 | Certificate not stated |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.