AI Course Check

Google

Generative AI for Educators with Gemini

Generative AI for Educators with Gemini is a free beginner course from Google, online. It takes about 2 hours and ends with a free certificate.

Before you sign up

Useful for teachers who want to save time on admin, personalise instruction and enrich lessons using Gemini and Gemini Notebook. It's free, takes about 2 hours and ends with a certificate of completion. The framing is American: it's written for middle and high school teachers, and the PD credit depends on US school districts, so ignore those parts. For a ChatGPT-based alternative, try ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers from OpenAI Academy.

What you'll learn

A free two-hour course showing middle and high school teachers how to use Gemini and Gemini Notebook to save time on admin, personalise instruction and enrich lessons.

More courses on generative AI.

Who it's for

Teachers and educators.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

None

Is Generative AI for Educators with Gemini free?

Free.

Certificate: free certificate. Certificate of completion (US PD credit depends on district).

Taking this course from the UK

We checked this course on the provider's own page on 3 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education), AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.

Questions people ask

How much does Generative AI for Educators with Gemini cost?

It's free.

How long does Generative AI for Educators with Gemini take?

About 2 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Generative AI for Educators with Gemini?

Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "certificate of completion (US PD credit depends on district)".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: None.

When does Generative AI for Educators with Gemini start?

Start any time.

Are Google AI courses free?

Most are. AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101 and Enterprise Agents and Use Cases are free or free to learn, as are 5 others; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

  • Safe and effective use of AI in education

    Chartered College of Teaching

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Next intake not announced

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 11 Oct 2026
  • Google AI Educator series

    Google for Education

    Delivery
    Online
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 12 Oct 2026

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3Certificate not stated
Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
ChatGPT Foundations for TeachersOpenAI on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner5No certificate
Claude 101Anthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.