AI Course Check

EU Academy (European Commission)

Ethical and effective practices for AI and data in education

Ethical and effective practices for AI and data in education is a free beginner course from EU Academy, online. It ends with a free certificate. EU Academy doesn't say how long it takes.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.

Before you sign up

For primary, secondary and further education teachers who want to understand AI and data literacy, ethics, and how data can support personalised learning and assessment. It's free, needs no prior knowledge and comes with a certificate of completion. The caveats: at 15 to 20 hours by the provider's estimate it's a real time commitment, and it's written for European schools rather than UK ones. For a shorter, tool-based option, try ChatGPT Foundations for Teachers from OpenAI Academy.

What you'll learn

Self-paced course for primary, secondary and VET teachers on AI and data literacy, ethical considerations, and using data for personalised learning and assessment.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Teachers and educators.

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

No prior knowledge required

Is Ethical and effective practices for AI and data in education free?

Free.

Certificate: free certificate. Certificate of completion.

Taking this course from the UK

We checked this course on the provider's own page on 3 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for teachers and educators: AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education), AI in primary computing (National Centre for Computing Education), AI literacy for teachers and school leaders (Raspberry Pi Foundation).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

It's free.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: free certificate. The provider calls it "certificate of completion".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: No prior knowledge required.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Are EU Academy AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including Ethical and effective practices for AI and data in education and Introduction to Artificial Intelligence for Public Service Interoperability.

Alternatives

  • Safe and effective use of AI in education

    Chartered College of Teaching

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Next intake not announced

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 11 Oct 2026
  • Google AI Educator series

    Google for Education

    Delivery
    Online
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Free certificateUK
    Verified 12 Oct 2026

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
AI in primary computingNational Centre for Computing EducationOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Certificate not stated
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.